Para-Equestrian Canada is pleased to announce the 2013 election results for positions on the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee (CPEC).

Victoria Andrew of Ottawa, ON, Elizabeth Quigg of Stouffville, ON, and Sharon Buffitt of Pointe Claire, QC have been elected to the CPEC for a two-year term beginning in February 2013.

Andrew was one of Canada’s first certified equestrian coaches, and she is presently working with Equine Canada as a Master Learning Facilitator and Master Evaluator for the coaching program. She also was a consultant responsible for supporting the instructors at the Therapeutic Riding Association of Ottawa Carleton (TROtt) for several years. In 2009, Andrew joined the TROtt Board and in 2012 was elected as the Chair.

Quigg has been chef d’équipe of the Canadian Para-Equestrian Team and the chair of the Para-Equestrian Canada High Performance Committee since 2005, and has been instrumental in the development of the Para-Equestrian Canada high performance program. In addition to her experience with para-dressage, Quigg was also the chef d’équipe of the Canadian Olympic Dressage Team in 1996 and Ontario’s Young Rider Dressage Team from 1997 to 2002.

Buffitt, a member of the Canadian Equestrian Team in para-dressage at the 2010 World Equestrian Games, has been re-elected to serve a second term as the Athlete Representative to the CPEC.

“I would like to extend my appreciation to the outgoing CPEC members Jane James and Gwynne Rooke, who are both long-term, valued members of the CPEC and have made great contributions to the sport’s growth and success,” said Amie O’Shaughnessy, director of Para-Equestrian at Equine Canada. “The CPEC is also very fortunate to be welcoming Victoria Andrew, Sharon Buffitt, and Elizabeth Quigg as the newly elected members, as we prepare for the 2014 World Equestrian Games in Normandy, France.”

The new members will join Lauren Barwick of Langley, BC, Kendra Flynn Stronach of Brooklin, ON, Elizabeth McMullen of Palgrave, ON, and Jessica Rhinelander, originally of Newfoundland but currently based in Wellington, FL. The Committee will elect a chairperson from amongst its own members at the first meeting in February.