Last in the order of go, but first in the standings, Andrew Ramsay and Cocq A Doodle executed a sensational jump-off round and beat Canadian adversaries Jenn Serek and Isabelle Lapierre by more than three seconds.

Course designer Luc Musette (BEL) presented a challenge to the riders entered into the FEI Assante Classic this week at the International Bromont: in fact, we have to wait until the ninth pair on the course before seeing a clear round, executed by Sarah Scheiring & Dontez, who will quickly be joined by Nicholas Dello Joio and Devin Ryan, the latter having won, with Eddie Blue, the Quebec Orignal opening event on August 3, 2017.

Four riders chose not to compete in the second round: Americans Sarah Scheiring, Heather Caristo-Williams, Alison Robitaille and Peter Lutz. Nicholas Dello Joio establishes the time to beat at 49.46 secondes in the jump-off with Cantino executing a clear round. However, he is quickly bested by Devin Ryan and Cooper. We have to wait for the sixth rider on the course, Jennifer Serek with Wicked, for the leader to be beaten. With a time of 42.57, the pair seems close to victory, with only three teams to go.

Quebec Isabelle Lapierre, who, with her 10 year-old KWPN mare Cescha M clocked in the fastest time in the first round gets on the course as the second to last competitor, but gets second place in the temporary standings, with fewer than a one second difference on the clock.

The last duo on the course, Andrew Ramsay and Cocq A Doodle go all in and execute a clear round in an unbeatable time of 34.49 seconds, a little over three seconds better than Canadian Jennifer Serek.

Results – FEI Assante Classic

1. Andrew Ramsay (USA) / Cocq A Doodle, 0-0, 39.49 sec

2. Jenn Serek (CAN) / Wicked, 0-0, 42.57 sec

3. Isabelle Lapierre (CAN) / Cescha M, 0-0, 42.90 sec

4. Devin Ryan (USA) / Cooper, 0-0, 42.98 sec

5. Nicholas Dello Joio (USA) /Cantino, 0-0, 49.46 sec

6. Kelley Robinson (CAN) / Blue’s Yer Daddy, 0-4, 43.57 sec

7. Mattias Tromp (USA) / Quinta, 0-4, 44.07 sec

8. Andrew Ramsay (USA) / Stranger, 0-14, 66.31 sec

9. Jonathan McCrea (USA) / Aristoteles V, 0-16, 60.81 sec

10. Sarah Scheiring (USA) / Dontez, 0 -DNS

10. Heather Caristo-Williams (USA) / Qui Vive des Songes Z, 0-DNS

10. Alison Robitaille (USA) / Ace, 0-DNS

10. Peter Lutz (USA) / Robin de Ponthual, 0-DNS