The 2019 Rolex International Jumping Riders Club (IJRC) Top 10 Final at the Concours Hippique International de Genève (CHIG) has been won by Rolex Testimonee Kent Farrington from the United States riding Austria 2. Second place went to Darragh Kenny (Ireland) riding Romeo 88 and third place to Christian Ahlmann (Germany) riding Clintrexo Z.

The curtains opened this evening to an electric atmosphere with an enraptured audience ready to witness the top 10 riders in the world compete to be the best among them. A competition like no other, it is an eagerly awaited highlight of the equestrian calendar and an initiative Rolex has supported since it’s inauguration in 2001. Steeped in equestrian history, 2019 marks the 15th year this prestigious class has been hosted at the CHIG.

The 10 horse and rider combinations were set a technically challenging course designed by world-renowned course designers Gérard Lahchat of Switzerland and Louis Konickx of The Netherlands. The first round proved to be challenging, producing just three clears, two of which came from Rolex Testimonees Kent Farrington and Steve Guerdat. The second round saw Farrington produce another exacting clear round, stopping the clock in an outstanding time of 40.32 seconds, joining an elite group of riders who have won the Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final twice.

Reflecting on his win, Farrington said: “I think this is an amazing class, it’s great that Rolex supports it as it really showcases the top level of our sport. I look at the list of riders that have already won it once, and then the guys that have won it twice, Steve Guerdat, Rodrigo Pessoa and Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum, they are the best in our sport, so it’s an honour to be on that list with those riders.”

The equestrian world will now turn its attention to the Rolex Grand Prix, which takes place at the CHIG on Sunday. This is the last Major of the year in the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping and the climax of this four-day event.


1. Kent Farrington (USA) riding Austria 2

2. Darragh Kenny (IRE) riding Romeo 88

3. Christian Ahlmann (GER) riding Clintrexo Z

4. Daniel Deusser (GER) riding Killer Queen VDM

5. Steve Guerdat (SUI) riding Alamo

6. Martin Fuchs (SUI) riding Silver Shine

7. Ben Maher (GBR) riding F One USA

8. Pieter Devos (BEL) riding Espoir

9. Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) riding Toveks Mary Lou

10. Peder Fredricson (SWE) riding H&M All In