Equestrian Canada (EC) is pleased to announce that Lynn Macyk of Edmonton, AB, and Karen Sparks of Nepean, ON, have joined the Equestrian Canada Jumping Committee for a three-year term from 2019-2022.

The Jumping Committee (an operational committee of EC) is responsible for providing strategic guidance and counsel to EC management to support the development of hunter/jumper in Canada. The Committee works in collaboration with other EC committees, task forces and national office staff, to provide assistance in implementation of the respective mandates.

Currently, the Committee’s primary focus of growing the discipline includes efforts to increase the number of EC sanctioned competitions, as well participation across the county.

Following the conclusion of voting and subsequent recommendations, Macyk and Sparks were appointed to the Jumping Committee for a three year term each, to commence immediately. Their appointments replace outgoing Committee members, Mark Samuel of Mississauga, ON, and Beth Underhill of Schomberg, ON, after the conclusion of their terms in May 2019.

Following the Terms of Office outlined in the EC Governance Manual, Jumping Committee members are appointed for a term of three (3) years and eligible to serve up to two (2) terms. In appointing the members of the Committee, consideration is given to diversity, including without limitation, national/international experience and competency in the sport discipline, as well as gender, regional, technical, and linguistic balance.

Additional positions on the Jumping Committee will become available in the new year as current members reach their term limits. EC encourages any candidate interested in serving on the Committee to review the EC Operational Committee Manual and submit their name and CV once a call for applications has been published.

For more information on jumping programs and high performance in Canada, visit www.equestrian.ca/sport/jumping/high-performance.