Equestrian Canada National Award Recipients Announced

Equestrian Canada has announced the 2017 National Award recipients to be honoured during the 2018 Awards Reception, April 7 at the EC Convention in Ottawa.

Thumbnail for Equestrian Canada National Award Recipients Announced

By: EC Media |

Equestrian Canada (EC) is pleased to announce the 2017 National Award recipients that will be honoured during the 2018 Awards Reception, taking place April 7, 2018 at the EC Convention in Ottawa, ON.

Traditionally, the announcement of the EC National Award recipients takes place during the Awards Reception. However, new for this year, EC is releasing the list of recipients early in order to encourage the Canadian equestrian community to attend and enjoy celebrating the outstanding accomplishments of the deserving recipients in person.

Join us at the Brookstreet Hotel on April 7, 2018 to celebrate and honour distinguished equestrians, organizations and horses. The Reception will also feature exclusive presentations, including the 2017 Year in Review, as well as a live band and Brookstreet’s renowned food and hospitality!

Purchase Tickets here.

*Please note: EC Awards Reception tickets are included in the purchase of a Full Convention Pass ($250), but Awards Reception-only tickets ($50) are also available through this Convention Registration portal. For assistance with purchases, please email bharrison@equestrian.ca.

The following 2017 award recipients will be recognized for their equestrian-related achievements at the 2018 EC Awards Reception. For further information, click on the name of the recipient:


Gold Medal Award

Susan Grange

Lifetime Achievement Award

Susan Grange

Volunteer of the Year, Presented by Henry Equestrian

The Centaur Red Team

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobson Trophy

Selena O’Hanlon

Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy, Presented by Asmar Equestrian

Tosca Holmes-Smith

Horse of the Year – The Hickstead Trophy


Owner of the Year

John & Judy Rumble

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year

Foxwood High

Owner: John & Judy Rumble

Breeder: Hugh Graham

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere

Karyne Lord

Equestrian Canada Health & Welfare Award

Dr. Mary Bell

Equestrian Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy

CBC Sports


EC would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2017 EC National Awards, including the many individuals who submitted nominations to support deserving individuals. Across the board, the quality of the nominations was extremely high for 2017, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers and supporters within the Canadian equestrian industry.

EC would also like to thank the Awards Committee for their time and effort in selecting the 2017 recipients, with support and input from EC stakeholders and experts. The 2018 EC Awards Committee is comprised of Carla Robin (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Michael Boyd, Erin Lundteigen, and Karen Sparks.

About the EC Awards Program

The EC National Awards are presented annually to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community. For more information, visit www.equestrian.ca/about/national-awards.


Horse Sport News