Do you know a horse, individual or organization that made a difference in the Canadian Equestrian Community in 2022?

Please take a few minutes and put forth a nomination for the 2022 Equestrian Canada (EC) National Awards! Self nominations are welcomed and encouraged. PTSO members are eligible to nominate individuals that qualify in each category.


The 2022 year saw competitions come back to pre-pandemic levels and was full of great efforts and performances in horse sport across the Canadian Equestrian community. Nominations are open for the EC National Awards from now until February 10, 2023 at 4 p.m. ET.

The impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community over the 2021 year will be recognized in the following categories:

• Gold Medal Award
• Lifetime Achievement Award
• Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy
• Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
• Horse of a Lifetime – The Hickstead Trophy
• Volunteer of the Year
• Owner of the Year
• Coach of the Year
• Official of the Year
• Horse of the Year
• Canadian Breeder of the Year
• Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
• Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
• Health & Welfare Award

Full information on all the awards can be found HERE. The Awards committee will be reviewing nominations submitted through the portal and winners will be announced at the beginning of March 2023.

EC Awards Committee

The EC Awards Committee members are as follows:

Jennifer Anstey – Schomberg, ON
Julie Brewster – Bowden, AB
Peggy Hambly (Chair) – Guelph, ON
Alison Martin – North Vancouver, BC
Taylor McRae – Ottawa, ON