Para-Equestrian Canada is pleased to announce the 2012 election results for positions on the Canadian Para-Equestrian Committee (CPEC). 

Lauren Barwick of Aldergrove, BC; Kendra Flynn Stronach of Brooklin, ON; Elizabeth McMullen of Palgrave, ON; and Jessica Rhinelander of Ottawa, ON have been elected to the CPEC. The positions on the committee are not specific in task and each position is for a two-year term beginning in February 2012.

“We are fortunate to have such a diverse and skilled group of new members joining the committee this year,” said Amie O’Shaughnessy, director of Para-Equestrian at Equine Canada.  “This is a very exciting year for the committee, and I am confident that the new members will be valuable contributors to the success of our athletes at the 2012 Paralympic Games.”

The new members join Sharon Buffitt of Pointe Claire, QC; Jane James of Duncan, BC; and Gwynne Rooke of Stouffville, ON.  The Committee will elect a chairperson from amongst its own members at the first meeting in February.

Para-Equestrian Canada would like to recognize two long-term committee members who have both completed a six-year-term—Isabel Reinertson, who held the chair position during her entire tenure, and Sue Mott, who joined the committee in 2006 through her interest in para-driving. 

“The enormous growth of para-equestrian sport in Canada over the past six years is a testament to Isabel’s leadership and vision, and we are fortunate that Isabel will be fulfilling a number of key roles within the discipline over the next year.” added O’Shaughnessy. “Sue’s insights and contributions have also been valued by her fellow committee members, and we are pleased that she will continue as chair of the Para-Equestrian Driving Committee to further expand programs in other areas of para-equestrian sport.”