From USEF Pony Finals to the Pan American Games, Eve Jobs has made a remarkably quick climb up the equestrian ladder. Of course, there are many advantages to being a daughter of the co-founder of the world’s most valuable brand, Apple Inc. (Forbes, 2019), but fame and fortune neither ride horses nor get them around a 1.60m international course. Money doesn’t win medals either – and she’s got one. Out of 1,000 riders under 25 in the world, Eve is ranked number five.

In the summer of 2015, following the North American Junior championships and while still in high school, Eve made her 5* debut at Spruce Meadows. But it was the arrival of Venue d’Fees des Hazalles two years later that was transitional. Just months after jumping double clear for Belgium with Fabienne Dagnieux Lange in the Lisbon Nations Cup, Eve and Venue won a 1.45m at Langley and became a ‘partnership of interest’ for US chef d’équipe Robert Ridland. Fast-forward to 2019: Eve earns a place in her first World Cup Final after finishing second in the North American Western League. With Venue, in a very formidable arena, they place 15th, second best of the Americans. Multiple clear rounds on Nations Cup teams over the summer made them a no-brainer for Lima, where they fulfilled expectations.

Striking a healthy balance between conscientious student (a junior at Stanford, Eve has a heavy-duty major in science technology and society), refreshingly normal 20-something instagrammer, and dedicated competitor, Eve says horses will always be a part of her life, although to what extent she knows not.

Steve Jobs told his biographer, Walter Isaacson, that one day Eve could be running Apple or the country. Now there’s an idea.

What’s a typical week like during competition season? How does school fit in with the horses?

Life can definitely be hectic sometimes! I think everyone’s can be, but certainly juggling my academics and riding can make things a bit difficult at times. It’s hard to depict a typical week during competition season because they often depend on where the show is and what my school schedule looks like in that moment. I guess the easiest example I could give would be a week during the Winter Equestrian Festival in Florida. Usually during those weeks I spend all day Monday in class and getting as much work done as possible before heading to the airport that night. I try to get some sleep on the flight because with the time difference I tend to arrive around 6 or 7 a.m.! After I get in, I usually take a little power nap before I get up and start with the horses. We use Tuesday to train at home and do any final preparations needed before heading to the show. Florida is great because I’m lucky enough to be able to stay at home while also competing. It definitely makes schoolwork easier too, because I can go back home and work periodically throughout my day. The rest of the week usually just consists of competing and finishing my work before flying back to school Sunday night. While school definitely can be challenging at times to fit in with the horses, I am a huge advocate for doing both. I think not only does it allow me to explore different academic passions, but it has also pushed me into developing serious time management, communication, and work ethic skills that have been instrumental to my growth and success in both areas of my life.

What’s your earliest horsey memory?

I actually don’t have any family history with horses. I was first put on a pony at two years old, but didn’t actually start really riding until I was about six. I have always had a love and appreciation for animals and I think that passion was evident pretty early on. My earliest memory is probably being at the Stanford barn having a lesson with Ben Hey (who I still ride with today) on a pony called Dolly. I really owe everything to Ben Hey and Sasha Kollmann, who have worked with me since my earliest pony days all the way up to where we are today.

Can you identify a time when your hobby turned into a serious pursuit?

There have been many points in my riding career that I would consider to be a turning point, but the one that really stands out would probably be my third-place finish in my first 3* grand prix under the lights in Wellington. That class was my first big grand prix, first Saturday night class in Florida, and I was definitely really nervous! To come out with a result like that was the biggest boost of confidence for me and a real turning point with how I viewed my capabilities. After that result, I really started to feel like I could achieve some of my big dreams and reach the top of the sport.

Tell us something about you that would surprise people.

I met my current boyfriend through a DM [Instagram direct message] – ladies, go for it!

How would you describe yourself?

I would say I am happy, driven, sensitive, compassionate, and particular.

Where is your favourite place in the world?

Either at the stable in California or Italy!

Where would you most like to go that you haven’t been?


If you were cast away on a deserted island and you were allowed to bring one book, one recording and one luxury item, what would you bring?

I would bring A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan, and the most luxurious of all, my friend Morgan.

Do you have a health and fitness regimen?

Sometimes, yeah! I mean, I try to eat well, go to Soul Cycle and pilates when I can, but I also totally eat too many sweets and have some extremely lazy days. I try my best to have a balance.

Can you recommend a movie that you recently enjoyed?

I highly recommend The Imitation Game.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Cake, all forms.

What’s the most important life lesson you’ve learned so far?

I have two that really stick with me, the first being that mistakes happen and it will be okay. I know this sounds probably pretty standard, but being a sensitive person, I internalize a lot and get upset with myself when I feel like I’ve messed up, either in life or with riding. Learning that people screw up, that it’s actually inevitable, and that it’s okay. And the second being that you can learn something from everyone. Absolutely everyone.

How would you rate your first experience on a senior championship squad?

I couldn’t have asked for a better first experience; the team we had was supportive, fun and it was just a phenomenal group! It was such a special experience and something I am incredibly grateful and honoured to have been a part of.

What’s on the horizon for you?

Well, I’m actually studying abroad in Paris this quarter, so my short-term goal is to travel and explore new places with my friends. Oh, and definitely develop my French speaking skills. With the horses, I just hope to continue working with the wonderful team of people and incredibly talented horses I have and see where it takes us.

Hometown: Los Altos Hills, CA
Age: 21
Social Media: Instagram 130k followers
Trainer: Eddie Macken
World Ranking: 79
Under 25 Ranking: 5
Top String: Venue d’Fees des Hazalles, 2005 chestnut SBS mare
Major Achievements: 2019 Pan American Games, Team Bronze medal,
individual 5th (Venue d’Fees des Hazalles).