It is clear that number one FEI Rolex World Ranking rider, Eric Lamaze (CAN), and his 15 year old stallion Hickstead like the International Ring at Spruce Meadows.  They experienced great success during the Spruce Meadows Summer Tour and that success continued on the first day of the Spruce Meadows “Masters” Tournament.

In the Finning Welcome, eight riders representing six nations- Canada, France, Great Britain, Belgium, Ireland and the Netherlands-, moved forward to the jump-off over the Leopaldo Palacios (VEN) designed course.  Eric Lamaze and Hickstead were second to compete in the jump-off and put down a blistering pace that could not be matched.  “This was a good start for Hickstead,” Eric smiled.  “He just got off the plane from Europe and I am very pleased with how he feels. We both have a bit of jet lag but that didn’t seem to matter.”

Di Lampard, Chef d’Equipe of the British team remarked that this “Was a great day of sport” in the International Ring at Spruce Meadows.

The International Division kicked off with Richard Spooner (USA) jumping to victory in the 49 entry Akita Drilling Cup. “ I love this horse, I love this venue and I love it when a plan comes together,” said Spooner after his victory in a 15 horse jump off aboard Billy Bianca.

With unprecedented sunshine and warmth predicted for the week one can expect great crowds and exceptional sport.  Sport continues in the International Ring on Thursday with the ATCO Structures & Logistics Cup and the CANA Cup

For a complete tournament schedule visit the Spruce Meadows website at

Akita Drilling Cup – Top10
1-Richard Spooner                   USA                Billy Bianca
2-Beezie Madden                     USA                Coral Reef Via Volo
3-Tiffany Foster                       CAN               Victor
4-Lauren Hough                       USA                Blue Angel
5-Jaime Guerra                        MEX               Utopias
6-Rik Hemeryck                       BEL                 Challenge VD Begijnakker
7-Andreas Kreuzer                   GER                Chacco Blue
8-Wout Jan Van Der Schans   NED                P Pilot
9-Caitlin Ziegler                        USA                Valencia
10-Jonathan Asselin                 CAN                Makavoy

Finning Welcome  – Top 10
1-Eric Lamaze                          CAN                Hickstead
2-Roger-Yves Bost                  FRA                 Ideal De La Loge
3-Peter Charles                        GBR                Murkas Vindicat W
4-Ludo Philippaerts                 BEL                 Kassini Jac
5-Marc Dilasser                       FRA                 Obiwan De Piliore
6-Jennifer Crooks                    IRL                  SF Uryadi
7-Stephanie Van Den Brink    NED                Verdi
8-Piet Raymakers                    NED                Van Schijndel’s Rascin
9-Jerome Hurel                        FRA                 OHM De Ponthual
10-Wassim Anzarouti               SYR                 Cyber Boy