The Equestrian Canada (EC) Board approved a resolution today condemning Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the breaking of the Olympic Truce, and Belarus’ support of the attacks. EC joins the International Olympic Committee (IOC), International Paralympic Committee (IPC), Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI), Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) and Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC) in banning Russian and Belarusian athletes, horses and officials from sport participation.

EC’s resolution reads, “The EC Board, effective immediately and until further notice suspends all Russian and Belarusian athletes, horses and officials from any EC nationally sanctioned events. This suspension applies to any athlete, horse, owner, or official who is a citizen of Russia or Belarus or has declared Russia or Belarus as their nationality.”

EC Chief Executive Officer Meg Krueger says, “we are deeply saddened by the ongoing events in Ukraine and are concerned for the welfare of Ukrainians and the equestrian community there.” Krueger added, “We must stand united as a sport community that thrives on camaraderie in a state of peace and offer our unwavering support to the people of Ukraine.”