Ottawa, ON—Young talent from across Canada will converge in Red Deer, AB, September 13–14, 2008, to contest the fourth annual Dressage Canada National Youth Championships for the FEI Pony, FEI Children, FEI Junior and FEI Young Rider divisions.

Hosted for the second time by Sheri Breese and the Parkland Dressage Festival in Red Deer, AB, the competition is sure to be a huge success.

The following rider/horse combinations have qualified to represent their region at the 2008 Championships:

FEI Pony Division

Natalie Bell & Sub-Zero (BC)

Michelle Mills & Movin Mountains (BC)

FEI Children Division

Emily Anderson & Walando G (AB)

Carlie Ringland & Tobruk (AB)

FEI Junior Division

Emily Anderson & Talisman (AB)

Monica Houweling & Stentano (BC)

Megan Lane & Dolany (ON)

Sara Regehr & Danika (BC)

Kristine Watson & Aiycing (BC)

FEI Young Rider Division

Lindsay Seidel-Wassenaar & Oslo (AB)

Rhiannon Williams & Rockstar (AB)

Jennifer Wood & Tia Maria (BC)

Jessica York & Paris Consul (BC)

Equine Canada and Dressage Canada congratulates all the riders that have achieved and completed the criteria required to compete at the National Youth Championships and sends best wishes to everyone for a successful competition.


Started in 2005, the Dressage Canada National Youth Championships provides a terrific platform for Canada’s emerging talent. The head-to-head format proves to be an exciting competition as riders sharpen their skills over the competition season, collecting valuable qualifying scores in order to represent their region. The Championships provide excellent training for the future as the qualifying system is structured in a similar fashion to that used for high performance senior athletes.

In the four regions of Pacific (British Columbia and Yukon), West (Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, North West Territories and Nunavut), East (Ontario and Quebec) and Atlantic (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland/Labrador), the rider/horse combinations must achieve a minimum qualifying score of 60% in the Team, Individual and Freestyle tests in order to compete at the Championships.

Successfully qualified competitors make the journey to compete against one another in what proves to be a very competitive environment. Past National Youth Championships competitors have gone on to represent Canada on the international stage at the North American Junior & Young Rider Championships as well as the FEI Young Rider World Cup Finals including Jade Deter (2008 NAJYRC Bronze and 2007 NAJYRC Gold medalist), Jamie Holland (2008 NAJYRC Bronze medalist), Amy Jager (2008 NAJYRC Bronze medalist) and Danielle McKinnon (2008 NAJYRC Bronze medalist) to name just a few.


This year, the following judges have been given the responsibility of crowning our champions: Christoph Hess (GER—FEI I), Lisette Vega De Purcell (Dominican Republic— FEI I), Joan Macartney (CAN—FEI I), Brenda Minor (CAN— FEI I) and Anita Owen (USA Senior).