Ottawa, ON—Following a successful spring training and competition program, the Canadian Eventing High Performance Committee is pleased to announce the names of the Canadian Eventing Team who will compete in the Olympic Games August 9–12, 2008.  Selected according to the qualification thresholds and selection procedure, five rider/horse combinations are named to the Team and nominated to the Canadian Olympic Committee.  The equestrian events for the 2008 Olympic Games are being held in Hong Kong.

Canada is one of only five nations in the world sending teams to compete in all three Olympic and the one Paralympic equestrian disciplines. 


Named to the Team (in alphabetical order) are:


Rider – Hometown – Horse – Owner


Kyle Carter – Calgary, AB – Madison Park, 1998 bay American Thoroughbred – Kyle Carter & Nicole Shinton

Sandra Donnelly – Calgary, AB – Buenos Aires, 1997 bay Canadian Warmblood – Sandra Donnelly

Selena O’Hanlon – Elgin, ON – Colombo, 1994 bay Swedish Warmblood – Elaine & Michael Davies

Jessica Phoenix – Uxbridge, ON – Exploring, 1997 bay Canadian Thoroughbred – Jessica Phoenix

Michael Winter – Toronto, ON – King Pin, 1996 chestnut Irish Sport Horse – King Pin Syndicate


The Team entries will be nominated by Equine Canada to the Canadian Olympic Committee by the deadline for final definite entries by noon (ET) Monday July 14, 2008. 


In addition to selecting the Canadian Eventing Team members, at the discretion of the selectors the committee announces an accompanying list of horse/rider combinations to serve as alternate/substitutes for the Eventing Team for the 2008 Olympic Games.  If for any reason one of selected horse/rider combinations is unable to travel to the Olympic Games, then it may be possible, although subject to strict regulations to replace a named substitute to the team.


Named as Alternates (in alphabetical order) are:


Rider – Hometown – Horse – Owner


Hawley Bennett – Langley, BC – Livingstone, 1990 bay Canadian Thoroughbred – Hawley Bennett & Gerry Bennett

Diana Burnett – Blackstock, ON – Manny, 2000 bay Canadian Thoroughbred cross – Diana Burnett & John Lennox 

Lesley Grant-Law – Mount Albert, ON – Timber Spirit, 1995 chestnut English Thoroughbred – Lesley Grant-Law & Anthony Grant

Samantha Taylor – Richmond, BC – Livewire, 1998 grey Canadian Thoroughbred – Samantha Taylor 

* Michael Winter – Toronto, ON – Wonderful Will, 1997 bay American Thoroughbred – Michael Winter & Elliott Schwartz


*Michael Winter and Wonderful Will is the named alternate to Michael Winter and King Pin.


For rider biographies, visit web site  


Following a preparatory outing at the Florida Horse Park, in Ocala, Florida July 12–13, the Team and alternates will participate in a Training Camp and Pre-Export Quarantine in Ocala, Florida, USA, prior to the July 25th departure for Hong Kong.


The team trains under the leadership of David O’Connor, International Technical Advisor.  Eventing chef d’équipe, Graeme Thom; team manager, Janette Leask; stable manager, Debbie Furnas; team veterinarian, Dr. Christiana Ober; and team farrier, Christopher Volk, will accompany and provide support to the team throughout the Games.


The Canadian Eventing Committee is grateful to Sport Canada, the Canadian Olympic Committee and all of its supporters, sponsors and friends for their continued support of the Canadian Eventing Team in its quest for excellence at the 2008 Olympic Games. 


At the 2008 Olympic Games, the team competition consists of a minimum of three and a maximum of five competitors with the best three scores to count for the team classification.  Following the first round of show jumping, which determines the team medal winners, the top 25 competitors will jump a second round to determine the individual medalists.


Provisional Schedule for the Olympic Games Eventing Competition:

Saturday, August 9 Dressage Day 1

Sunday August 10 Dressage Day 2

Monday August 11 Cross Country  

Tuesday August 12 Show Jumping 

Victory Ceremony–Team and Individual 


For specific times and competition details and results consult the Organizing Committee website, or the FEI web site