Forty-one entries took on the ATCO Structures & Logistics Cup course designed by world respected Venezuelan course designer, Leopoldo Palacios.

Of the 11 clears in the first round, 10 returned to jump-off the placings.  Eric Lamaze (CAN), fresh off his success yesterday with Hickstead, rode the 9-year-old speed specialist, Coriana van Klapscheut, to the win.  Ian Millar (CAN) and the 16-year-old Dutch warm blood gelding, In Style, followed him very closely for the blue ribbon.

The CANA Cup provided fans with a very exciting finale to the second day of competitions at the Spruce Meadows “Masters” Tournament with 9 jumping off over the Leopoldo Palacios (VEN) course.  The $15,000.00 paycheque went to Leon Thijssen (NED), who rode his Dutch Warm blood stallion to a 5 tenths of a second win over his closest competitor, Jaime Guerra (MEX).  “I knew I could beat Ian’s time.  My horse is quick and very careful and I was able to cut a corner to two – that is where I won it.  Tyson gets better and more ride-able as the week goes on.” Smiled Leon.

Friday of the Spruce Meadows “Masters” marks the beginning of the biggest weekend in show jumping with the Mercedes-Benz Evening of the Horse featuring the Encana Cup, the ATCO Electric “Circuit” 6 Bar and the “Symphony of Fireworks.”

For a complete tournament schedule, visit the Spruce Meadows website at

ATCO Structures and Logistics – Top 10
1-Eric Lamaze                            CAN                Coriana Van Klapscheut
2-Ian Millar                                CAN                In Style
3-Wout Jan Van Der Schans    NED                P Pilot
4-Ludo Philippaerts                  BEL                 Tauber VH Kapelhof
5-Caitlin Ziegler                         USA                Valencia
6-Christina Liebherr                 SUI                  LB Casanova
7-Harrie Smolders                     NED                Regina Z
8-Gert Jan Bruggink                 NED                Primeval Wings
9-Rik Hemeryck                        BEL                 Challenge VD Begijnakker
10-Mario Deslauriers                USA                Urico

CANA Cup – Top 1
1-Leon Thijssen                         NED                Tyson
2-Jaime Guerra                         MEX                Watch Me Van Het Grootveldhof
3-Lauren Hough                        USA                Quick  Stydy
4-Kirsten Coe                             USA                Tristan
5-Ian Millar                                CAN                Star Power
6-Santiago Labre                       MEX                Insul Tech Wonami Van Den Aard
7-Niels Bruynseels                    BEL                 Nasa
8-Jerome Hurel                         FRA                 OHM De Ponthual
9-Marc Oertly                            SUI                  Tamira IV
10-HRH Prince Abdullah Al Saud KSA           Davos